U Mumba is the Mumbai city franchise of the Pro Kabaddi League.
Derived from the word Mumba, the name represents the mother island that gave birth to our mega city which is now known as Mumbai. We the citizens make the city what it is therefore the name U Mumba. U Mumba and eleven other franchises play in a caravan format at 12 venues including its home turf, Mumbai, in the Pro Kabaddi League, initiated by Mashal Sports.

In 2018, season 6 the team has been reimagined and recreated from a scratch. We now have a new set of coaches namely __. The idea was to focus on a young dynamic squad with a good mix of youth and experience. The team will comprise of an experienced defensive (corners and covers) line up with a young offence (raiders) unit.

Brief History: Season 1 to 5
The team was led by Captain Anup Kumar for all 5 seasons, coached by Bhaskaran Edacherry and Ravi Shetty.

In season 1, the team finished Runners-Up, losing out to eventual champions Jaipur Pink Panthers in a closely fought finale.
In season 2, U Mumba consistently topped the table during the league stage and beat Bengaluru Bulls in a thrilling finale to be crowned Star Sports Pro Kabaddi League 2015 Champions.
In season 3, U Mumba topped the table again during the league stage to qualify for the semi-finals. In the semi-finals, U Mumba beat Bengal Warriors to qualify for their third successive final. Up against the Patna Pirates, U Mumba lost.
In season 4, U Mumba stood 5th on the table, unable to make it to the Playoffs.
In season 5, U Mumba finished 8th on the team performance table.

The future plans of U Mumba:

  • Extending the reach of U Mumba Future Stars and taking it to top metros of India
  • A full time residential academy called 'U Mumba Gurukul'
  • Building of a first of it's kind U Mumba Arena


Team U Mumba PKL Season 6 Players


1 Fazel Atrachali
2 Rohit Rana
3 Adinath Sakharam Gavali
4 Hadi Tajik
5 Dharmaraj Cheralathan
6 Surinder Singh
7 Rajaguru Subramanian
8 Anil


9 Vinod Kumar
10 Siddharth Sirish Desai
11 Rohit Baliyan
12 Abolfazl Maghsodloumahali
13 Darshan Kadian
14 R. Sriram
15 Arjun Deshwal
16 Abhishek Singh
17 Gaurav Kumar

All- Rounders

18 Mohit Balyan
19 Shiv Om
20 E. Subhash